Accepting Applications

More photos of me can be found here.

Checkers   |   Male   |   Husky X   |  

Rescue Story:

I came into Zoe's care after an extensive surgery following an attack by a predatory animal. I'm getting better now and looking for my forever home.

Date of Birth: 2015

Energy Level: Medium

Size (adult): Large, ~95 lbs

Adoption Fee:

Good with Dogs? Yes

Good with Cats? Yes
Although sometimes I think it would be fun to chase cats, I'm easily redirected.
Good with Kids? Yes

Critter Twitter:

Hi there! I'm Checkers and I'm a puppy at heart. My foster mama says I'm a loveable boy who wags like crazy when I see her. I prefer female humans, but I can become friends with nice males too. I like to go for car rides, and I'm although I don't like my crate, I'm fine left out in a dog-safe house. Although I have some puppy playfulness, I don't bark often, which I think my foster humans like! I'll be your best friend if you apply to adopt me!

About my Behaviour:

I'm great on leash, but I do get a bit scared of cars going by for now. I'm learning that I shouldn't counter surf and steal mom and dad's food, so obedience class would be great for me. I need a fenced yard where I can be freeeeee.

How’s my Health?

I was attacked by a predator animal and nearly died, but after a long surgery, I'm now recovering well. I have shrapnel from a bullet inside me (about 25 small pieces), and I had to have a toe amputated on my front foot from an infection from one of these pieces.

Apply to Adopt Me