Junie (Courtesy Post)


Junie (Courtesy Post)   |   Female   |   Maltese-Yorkie Mix   |  

Rescue Story:

I have been with the same owner since I was 2 months old. My owner is a senior who is unable to continue caring for this much-loved little girl. I will stay with them until my new family is found.

**As a courtesy post Zoe's has not met "Junie", we facilitate the adoption behind the scenes to ensure a safe rehoming. We make sure the animals are vetted but do not personally know the animal. It is the adopters responsibility to do their due diligence -ask for vet records, get the microchip changed, potentially involve a force free trainer for an assessment and/or ask for a trial period.**

Date of Birth: June 2019

Energy Level: Medium

Size (adult): Small (10 lbs)

Adoption Fee: $425

Good with Dogs? Yes
With proper introductions I should be just fine with dogs
Good with Cats? Unknown
Possibly ok with a dog friendly cat.
Good with Kids? Yes
With proper introductions and respectful playing, I am good with kids. Older kids are best.

Critter Twitter:

Hi! My name is Junie. I would like to tell you a little bit about myself. I am a lively girl who loves to play and hang around with people and other dogs. I like pet puzzles, classical music, Dog TV on Youtube and doing neighbourhood watch on the patio. I am very much a lap dog and like to be as close to my human as possible. I have gone to dogsitters and daycares a couple days a week since I was young, as we live in an apartment and the neighbours don’t appreciate my excellent guard dog announcements. I enjoy the dogsitter’s but mostly I like to be at home with my human. Now that the pandemic is settling down, I am getting used to having more visitors around. When on walks, I am at my best when the route is varied and interesting. I tend to bark when startled or excited but am learning to stop once I understand what is going on. My human does watch duty and is able to redirect me when something unexpected comes across our path. The sound of the treat dish being opened helps me quiet down right away when we are inside. I graduated from beginner doggie training earlier this year but would benefit from more training, especially leash handling and greeting visitors. I know I am super cute, but please read my full bio to make sure we are a good fit for each other before sending in your application for me. I know my perfect family is out there and I can hardly wait to meet them.

About my Behaviour:

I am house trained. I tried learning to stay in a crate, but it didn’t work out very well. I don’t chew things up or destroy the house, but I have been known to eat the newspaper if it’s left lying around. Kids should keep an eye on their homework. I’m not a fan of car rides, unless someone holds me on their lap. I don’t like being left alone for more than a few hours. If left alone, I will bark for a few minutes then settle down if it’s not too noisy outside. I think I’d be fine left alone if I had another dog friend with me. I will tell you if you are spending too much time on your cell phone. I don’t like winter much and will just do my duty then come back inside on cold days. I would do best with a medium activity, experienced dog-owning family, who live in a detached house with a fenced yard, maybe a couple kids and another younger dog. My new humans must be able to afford the veterinary food (unless advised otherwise by their vet) and grooming requirements (which is about $60 every 2 months), along with regular vet care. My new humans will get my wonderful doggie self, a dog bed, some food, toys, leashes, harness, all vet records and a treat dish.

How’s my Health?

I am spayed, microchipped and up to date on my vaccines. I eat special dog food from the vet (approx. $60/month) for a urinary crystals problem I had when I was young, but can eat fruits, vegetables etc. in moderation.

Apply to Adopt Me