Derek Zoolander

Adoption Pending

More photos of me can be found here.

Derek Zoolander   |   Male   |   Shepherd cross   |   Special Needs

Rescue Story:

I was brought in from a target community where I spent my time looking good (have you seen my blue steel good looks?)

Date of Birth: 2015

Energy Level: Medium

Size (adult): 40 lbs

Adoption Fee:

Good with Dogs? Yes
Yes, I love playing with other dogs and feel safe when they are around.
Good with Cats? Unknown
Unknown, but boy I do like to chase birds, squirrels and rabbits!
Good with Kids? Unknown

Critter Twitter:

I’ve been introduced to a whole new world since February and I’m feeling more relaxed in my foster home. So comfortable that you’ll often find me stretched out and snoozing in my favourite place – on the couch. I’m playful, sweet, I like to be brushed and massaged, and I LOVE treats. (My favourite is stinky cheese and hot dogs). Toys are a delight and playing tug and wrestling with my foster sister is so much fun! I started going for walks and now I can’t contain my excitement when I see that rope thing they stick to me. Even though I have to stay attached to my person on our walks, I enjoy it because I get to explore. I am getting used to the rope and passing by new people, dogs, and those noisy metal monsters that zoom by on the big path. My person put me inside a metal monster a few weeks ago and I didn’t like it. But we've gone for a few rides on the big path to a places where we could walk in the forest, or visit other people that give me treats so I've started to jump in on my own. I like to ride on what they call the "back seat". It's just like a couch!

About my Behaviour:

I’m still shy around people and new situations, but I’m adjusting and I’ve come a long way. I prefer women, but with lots of treats and patience, I’ll learn to trust men too. I need an owner who is very patient with me and who can slowly help me experience new things so that I don’t get overwhelmed and try to run and hide. Positive reinforcement is very important for me so that I can learn to trust people and feel safe. I would do best in a home with an experienced owner and a confident doggie friend that can show me that ways of the human world and play with me. A fully fenced and secure yard is also important so I stay safe.

How’s my Health?

I am neutered, vaccinated, microchipped and dewormed.

Apply to Adopt Me