Accepting Applications

More photos of me can be found here.

Mieka   |   Female   |   German Shepherd X   |  

Rescue Story:

I came into Zoe's to find a family to spend my retirement years with.

Date of Birth: 2007-2008

Energy Level: Medium - High

Size (adult): Large

Adoption Fee:

Good with Dogs? No
Although I love meeting dogs on walks, I do occasionally resource guard my food so I should be the only dog in the house.
Good with Cats? No
I like to chase cats when they run. I may be good with a dog-savvy cat.
Good with Kids? Yes
I love kids - so my forever home should have kids in it.

Critter Twitter:

I love to sit and watch the world go by, through the window or outside, so if you like to stop and take a look at the world around you, I am the dog for you. #takeabreakfromreality #chillingout

About my Behaviour:

My name is Mieka and I am new to life indoors. I am a chill girl who loves going for walks and spending time outside in the yard – breathing in all the fresh air and watching nature go by. I really like to chase other animals – cats, bunnies, partridges, you name it, so I will need a secure yard in my forever home. I used to be nervous on walks and in cars but I'm over that!

I like being near my people and enjoy sitting next to my foster family while they are eating or while I am eating my meals. I can sometimes be protective of my people, and occasionally I resource guard my food when around other dogs.

My foster mom is amazed that she has never heard me bark, instead I communicate with her by whining when I want something like going outside, playing with a dog or seeing a kid I want to play with.

I've been in care for a little while now so I've grown accustomed to indoor life. I'm ok by myself all day while my foster mom is at work! She is also working on teaching me some pretty cool things like how to sit and to lay down. When I go to my forever and ever home I might be a little nervous at first, but I'll warm up once I realize my new home is just as awesome as my foster home.

How’s my Health?

I have been spayed, vaccinated and microchipped. I will be getting some dental work done shortly. I am also a bit overweight and my foster family is helping me bring it down to a healthy level.

Apply to Adopt Me