Pause Pepper


More photos of me can be found here.

Pause Pepper   |   Female   |   Mixed Breed   |  

Rescue Story:

The lovely people at Zoe's are helping me find my people 🙂

Date of Birth: November 2017

Energy Level: medium

Size (adult): medium

Adoption Fee:

Good with Dogs? Unknown
I could possibly be ok with another dog with proper introductions -- however I did live with another female dog and we did not get along.
Good with Cats? Yes
I have lived with a cat before and we got along ok
Good with Kids? No
Ages 15 and up please! I am a shy gal who does not like unpredictability and am much better suited for a family with teens.

Critter Twitter:

Hello there! Pause Pepper here looking for my family! I am shy, but once I get to know you, then I'm all good! 🙂 I need some help with a few things that make me scared and uncertain. I need to be introduced to new things slowly, with lots of treats involved! My foster says I have never pulled on the leash when we go on walks and bike rides, I am very focused on my human and the run! I do get excited when I see other dogs so helping me learn to check back with you will be really important! See the comments below in the behaviour section that I think will help me to build the confidence I need to be the best dog I can be 🙂

About my Behaviour:

I am looking for an experienced adopter who is familiar with timid dogs like me, and is excited to work with me to build my confidence. I've been reading about this thing called "clicker training" ... apparently I offer a good behaviour - you click the clicker thingie, which is like saying "YES", and I get a treat. I think that sounds like a lot of fun, and will help me to learn to be a more confident dog. I've been doing some research, and there is a lot of good information out there on positive reinforcement training, which is critical with a shy girl like me. Maybe when the world goes back to normal we can take some positive reinforcement classes together which would be so fantastic.

I know about crates, and I have been in a crate for my safe space, and I'm ok with it .... let's keep building on that because I understand it can be my safe, secure place I can call my own, and I think I'd like that!

How’s my Health?

I'm spayed, microchipped, dewormed and up to date on vaccinations.

As I am anxious - I am currently on a medication called Fluoxetine.

Apply to Adopt Me