Accepting Applications

More photos of me can be found here.

Kallie   |   Female   |   Mixed Breed   |  

Rescue Story:

I was surrendered to find my new home, as my owner passed away.

Date of Birth: 2008 (approx)

Energy Level: Low

Size (adult): Large

Adoption Fee: Due to my age & medical needs my adoption fee will be reduced to $300

Good with Dogs? No
I would prefer to be the only dog in the home
Good with Cats? Unknown

Good with Kids? Yes
With proper introductions and respectful playing, I am great with kids.

Critter Twitter:

Hello I'm Kallie! I'm a senior husky mix. Let’s talk about what a wonderful girl I am. I love my people and grow quite attached to them. I love to play ball and tug of war with anyone willing and will toss the ball to me for more playtime! I love going for short walks and smelling everything. I can’t do long walks as I get very sore and stiff. My favourite thing to do is to hang out on the couch with my people and just chill. I have been losing some weight for my health for mobility/arthritis issues. I am good with everyone I have met, but those cats I am just too interested in chasing after. I am great with kids who are respectful of me and will play and snuggle with them too. Oh and did I mention I am a very smart girl. I learnt cues so fast, especially for treats! My hearing isn’t what it used to be but as long as I see you, you have my attention. So over all I’m just a pretty happy, chill and very sweet senior gal wanting my retirement home who will love me and make sure my medical needs are continued to be taken care of. I will be your best friend so save a spot for me on the couch, I’m quite the couch hog!

About my Behaviour:

I am house trained and I do not get into any trouble being left out loose. I’m not a fan of barriers and have never been crated so that won't work for me. But like I said I’m so good left out that it’s not something I need. I do have some separation anxiety and am on medication for it. I do best with someone who is at home most of the time as I do not like to be left alone and can get very stressed. I can be reactive with other dogs on leash on my walks, but I’m working on it I had some health concerns and my mobility wasn’t very good. I have had a couple mammary masses removed, I have some ear/skin issues that seem to just keep coming back. I have made wonderful progress though and have had lots of care to get me where I am today. I do have some ongoing health issues that will need to have continued treatment.

As a condition of adoption, we must register in a force free training class. This will help us both learn how to best help me and to help us bond Please check out www.albertaforcefreealliance.com for some great force free trainers!

How’s my Health?

1) I will require regular ear cleanings and will have possible future ear infections that will require a veterinary visit and medications to treat.
2) Monitor my fatty lumps. Under my left armpit.
3) I am on Fluoxetine once daily for my separation anxiety.
4) I will have possible future mammary lumps.
5) Monitoring my mobility and hips for arthritis & providing joint supplements & keeping my walks short.

I am spayed, up to date on my vaccinations, de-wormed and micro-chipped.

Apply to Adopt Me