Gemma, Mamma Jeep

Adopted


More photos of me can be found here.


Gemma, Mamma Jeep   |   Female   |   X (North Albertan Sweetiepie)   |  

Rescue Story:

I was found by a nice family who took me and my puppies to Zoes for help.

Date of Birth: I'm about a year old

Energy Level: Medium to High -sometimes I behave like a big puppy but I do like my chill time too.

Size (adult): Large - I'm just over 60lbs

Good with Dogs? Yes
I like dogs smaller than me and am working on not reacting to bigger dogs.
Good with Cats? Unknown
With proper introductions I should be just fine
Good with Kids? Yes
I am quite big and can be a little skittish so older children who understand how to properly approach me would be best.

Critter Twitter:

I've had a rough few months - having puppies is hard and my hormones have been all over the place. I am now in a cozy, relaxed foster home and am gaining confidence and enjoying relaxing and playing without 8 little pups trying to grab at me all the time! I love to sit on the arm of the couch and watch the dogs go by, I'd love to go and play but my foster mom doesn't think I'm quite ready yet as I can be a little nervous. I have played with a few doggie friends though and as long as they are a little smaller than me I am ok with it. Sometimes I forget that I'm not a puppy and I really like to chew, luckily I have plenty of chew toys to help me. I also love to be close to you and will snuggle up on the couch to watch TV with you - I really like those nature shows.

About my Behaviour:

I am learning lots and have had some help from a doggie trainer who thinks I will be just fine given lots of time and patience. I can now walk on leash without pulling, and I know basic commands. I'm also working on not reacting to loud cars that go by and staying calm when a big dog approaches. I am good with smaller dogs though.

If you work long hours I must be put in my crate as otherwise I can start chewing on things I shouldn't.

I would do well with an active family (older kids only if any though) who have time to continue to make sure I learn good manners and train me to listen. In time, I know I will feel more secure, every day gets a little better.

How’s my Health?

I am fully vetted.

Apply to Adopt Me